203 Turnpike Street,

North Andover, MA

}

9:00 AM – 4-30 PM

Monday - Friday

Contact Us

Good Eating on Milk/Soy Elimination Diet

Good Eating on Milk/Soy Elimination Diet

Good Eating on Milk/Soy Elimination Diet

Finding good foods to eat while following a milk/soy elimination can be hard but with some practice reading labels and some creative shopping, it can be done! Milk and soy are some of the most common allergens so by law, they will be written in BOLD letters on the label. Be sure to read the whole label because some foods can contain some ingredients (soy lecithin, vegetable oil) that contain the allergens in small quantities and are not necessarily listed in bold letters.

Here are some suggestions for eating well while following this diet. Many items can be found in the major grocery stores in the natural foods section and both Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods have a fantastic selection for specialty diets.

Products to Look for

Dairy Substitutes

Earth Balance margarine – red label (Whole Foods)
Milk products – rice milk in various flavors, almond milk, and coconut milk
Coconut milk creamer for coffee
Coconut milk yogurt – So Delicious brand
Coconut milk ice creams – So Delicious brand
Cheese – there are vegan soy-free cheeses at Whole Foods

Grains

Many cereals are ok but check labels
Breads – many commercial brands contain soy (lecithin or vegetable oil), When Pigs Fly bread is great, many sourdough breads and pitas are fine but check labels
Many Perfectos and Brueggers bagels are fine
There are some treats in the Gluten Free case at Whole Foods – muffins, donuts, breads
Snack foods – pretzels, Stacy’s Pita chips

Meats

Generally fine but be careful with commercially prepared marinades.
Some canned tuna has soybean oil in it.

Sweets

365 Chocolate bars
Enjoy Life brand: chocolate chips, cookies, cereal bars
Namaste brand baking mixes at Whole Foods

Other

Most natural salad dressings are ok, or make your own with canola or olive oils.
365 Brand Canola Mayonnaise, Spectrum mayo are both fine.
Watch out for vitamins and chewing gum.

Products to Avoid

Items with milk

Artificial butter
Butter, butter fat, buttermilk
Casein
Caseinates (ammonium, calcium, magnesium, potassium, sodium)
Cheese, cottage cheese, curds
Clarified butter
Cream
Custard, pudding
Half and Half
Hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, whey)
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Milk (derivatives, protein, solids, malted, dry, condensed, evaporated, dry whole, low fat, non-skim, skim, lactose free)
Nougat
Non-dairy creamer (check for casein)
Rennet
Sour cream, sour cream solids
Whey (delactosed, demineralized protein)
Yogurt

Items that may have milk or milk protein (check with product manufacturer):

Brown sugar flavoring
Caramel flavoring
Chocolate
High protein flour (protein source could be skim milk powder)
Margarine (may contain whey)
Natural flavoring
Simplesse

Items with soy:

Edamame
Hydrolyzed soy protein
Miso, Natto
Soy sauce
Soy beans, soy nuts
Soy flour
Soy grits
Soy fiber (Okara, soy bran, soy isolated fiber)
Soy milk
Soy sprouts
Soy protein concentrate
Soy protein isolate
Tempeh
Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
Tofu, Yube (soy bean curd)

Items that may have soy (check with product manufacturer):

Flavoring
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
Natural flavoring
Vegetable broth
Vegetable gum
Vegetable starch

Check labels. Manufacturers constantly change product recipes. Rechecking labels is very important so you can be sure that the product is milk and soy free.

Important Tips:

Parve or pareve are words that indicate that the product is milk and meat free, but still be sure to check all labels.

Product labels that have Kp or Up have milk in them. The ingredient list does not always list the milk source. It can be present due to related cross-contamination from a milk-containing product that is produced in the same facility. Some labels are now labeled Kpg, which indicated that the product is kosher but made on dairy equipment.

Medications: certain vitamin and mineral supplements, as well as some prescribed and over-the-counter drugs, contain lactose as a filler. Please consult with your doctor or pharmacist for specific information.

Deli meats often contain whey/casein in the brines that surround the meat in prepackaged products. They may also have whey/casein because of cross-contamination from slicing other meats/cheese products.

Most people with soy allergies may be able to safely eat soy lecithin and soy oil. Soy lecithin is a mixture of fatty substances, a by-product of soybean processing. Lecithin is often used as a stabilizer, emulsifier, or an antioxidant.

Milk and Soy Free Suggestions:

Fats: All vegetable oils not containing soy. Milk free and soy free margarine (Fleischmann’s Lower fat, check the label.)

Fruits: Fresh, frozen, canned or dried (dried fruits are sometimes coated with flour to prevent clumping-check with manufacturer.)

Meat/Poultry/Fish/Eggs: Beef, pork, poultry, fish, lamb, bacon, kosher frankfurters, all beef cold cuts, kosher cold cuts (Morrison & Schiff, Hebrew National, Empire), peanut butter (check labels), eggs.

Cheese: NONE

Potato/Pasta/Rice: All items are milk and soy free except prepackages (canned or frozen) pasta sometimes has casein or soy protein added to it to maintain shape-check with manufacturer.

Soups: Clear canned soups or commercial and homemade soups made with allowed ingredients are allowed. Some clear soups may contain margarine, which usually contains milk products. Be sure to check the labels.

Beverages: Fruit juices, carbonated beverages, rice drinks.

Infant formulas: Nutramigen, Alimentum, Pregestimil, Neocate

Bread/Crackers: French, Italian, Vienna (pita), bagels and mountain breads are usually milk free, but check the labels for soy ingredients. Piehoffer’s, Kasnof’s and Bouya Fasset are bakeries that produce a large line of milk free (parve) breads.

Cereals: Most cereals do not contain milk products in the ingredients list, but often have the Up symbol, which is suggested that there is some milk. These cereals should be avoided.

Baby Cereals: All Beechnut Baby Cereals.

Sweets: Sugar, jams, jellies, syrups, honey, Marshmallow Fluff, and candies such as gumdrops are allowed.

Desserts: Jello, fruit sorbet, Italian ice, milk-free popsicles. Baked products made with oil or allowed margarine.

Vegetables: Fresh, frozen or canned.

Other Items: Mustard, salt, cocoa powder, pretzels (check labels), peanut butter without added milk, relish, pepper, carob powder, olives, corn chips, catsup, spices, potato chips, plain popcorn, plain rice cakes.

This diet may not have enough calcium, phosphorus, or vitamin D. Check with your child’s doctor or dietitian to see if it meets their dietary needs.

Baby Food Information

Beechnut Nutrition Corporation 800-523-6633 http://www.beechnut.com

Earth’s Best 800-442-4221 http://www.earthsbest.com

Gerber 800-4-gerber (433-7237) http://www.gerber.com

Heinz 800-USA-BABY (872-2229) http://www.heinzbaby.com (Canadian page)

National Center for Nutrition and Dietetics Hotline 800-366-1655

This is a copy of a document originally constructed/published by Children’s Hospital Medical Center (combined Program in Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition). Harvard Medical School (Department of Pediatrics)